A number of countries, such as Sri Lanka and Thailand, are extending visa-free entry to Indian travelers as a means to enhance tourism. Below is a compilation of countries granting visa-free access to holders of Indian passports.

Sri Lanka and Thailand are among the island nations extending visa-free entry to Indian travelers.

Several countries are facilitating visa-free entry through visas on arrival to stimulate the tourism sector and ensure seamless travel experiences for visitors from specific nations, including India. These traveler-oriented initiatives are expected to ignite a surge of adventurous individuals eager to explore the scenic landscapes, diverse cultures, and rich customs of these destinations.

Among the nations introducing or maintaining tourist-friendly policies for visitors from India are the nearby island nation of Sri Lanka and the southeastern country of Thailand.

On May 6, the Sri Lankan government declared an extension of visa-free entry for certain nations, India included, until May 31 of this year. As a result, travelers from India, China, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Russia, and Japan can now enjoy exploring Sri Lanka visa-free for a maximum of 30 days.

Nonetheless, travelers from the mentioned countries must apply for a visa online before arriving in Sri Lanka through the official website at www.srilankaevisa.lkstay. The complimentary visa is valid for a duration of 30 days.

Thailand, the tropical island nation in Southeast Asia, has recently prolonged its visa exemption initiative for travelers from India and Taiwan for the upcoming six months. Under the updated regulations, tourists from these countries can enter Thailand without a visa until November 11th of this year.

According to a Bloomberg report, Thailand’s Prime Minister Srettha Thavisin announced this decision during a cabinet meeting convened on May 7. Under this decision, tourists from India and Taiwan will be granted a 30-day validity period for the free visa.

Here’s a list of countries where Indian passport holders can enjoy visa-free entry : 

Since February 4th of this year, Iran has eliminated visa requirements for holders of Indian passports. The Government of the Islamic Republic of Iran allows entry once every six months for tourism purposes only, with a maximum stay of 15 days.

While Kenya allows visa-free entry for Indians, tourists intending to visit the country must obtain electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) beforehand. This involves registering on the Immigration and Citizen Services portal prior to arrival.

As of December 1, visitors from India and China can now travel to Malaysia visa-free for up to 30 days under the new regulations.

It’s crucial to understand that these visa-free regulations apply exclusively to air travel for tourists visiting these countries.


Stay in the know about visa changes with VisaBud!